Wednesday, 25 April 2012

Derek Adams shortlisted for PFA Manager of the Year

Ross County's manager Derek Adams has been shortlisted for the Scottish PFA's Manager of the Year award.

However if he is to be named Manager of the year he will have to beat off competition from two SPL managers. Neil Lennon at Celtic and Stuart McCall at Motherwell.

Derak Adams has, of course, guided County to the First Division title with the team currently sat 21 points clear at the top of the league, with the team not having lost a league match since August - a run of 32 games (so far).
In terms of cup competitions, County did suffer defeat at the hands to Elgin city on the first dat of the season in the Callenge Cup, but only SPL sides beat them in the other two competitions - Celtic in the League Cup and St. Mirren in the Scottish Cup.
It is also interesting to note that not one transfer fee had been paid in assembling the current County squad with the players either having come through the system at County or having been signed on free transfers.

Neil Lennon guided Celtic to the SPL title, where they currently sit 18 points clear of Rangers (who were of course deducted 10 points mid season).  Celtic also failed to win any cup competitions this season, with Kilmarnock beating them in the League Cup final, and Hearts knocking them out of the Scottish Cup.  In terms of Europe, Celtic were knocked out the Europa League by Sion at the qualifying stages, but were handed a reprieve with UEFA banning Sion and replacing them with Celtic in the group stages - Celtic failed to qualify out of the group stages.

Stuart McCall has had a good season at Motherwell, and they currently sit third in the SPL table behind Celtic and Rangers, but with four games still to play their final league position is still far from certain.
Motherwell reach the quarter final stages of both cup competitions, losing out to Hibernian in the Legaue cup and Aberdeen in the Scottish Cup.

Ross County could of course have their own table at the PFA awards this year, as they also have two players nominated for the First Division Player of the Year - defender Grant Munro and forward Michael Gardyne.

The PFA awards will be announced on Sunday 6th May.